Short answer. Germany's BBK checklist covers a household for up to 10 days: 2 litres of water per person per day (20 litres for 10 days), long-life food, a camping stove, a radio, a torch, a power bank, a home pharmacy, hygiene items, cash, a paper list of phone numbers and one grab bag per person 12. Where the BBK gives no quantity, we say so below.
What is on the BBK checklist?
Each line follows the official BBK checklist 1. Water comes from the BBK guide 2 and per-day food quantities from the federal food-supply calculator, based on 2,200 kcal per person per day 3. "Not specified" means the BBK lists the item without a number.
| Item | Quantity | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Drinking water | 2 litres per person per day (0.5 l of it for cooking); 20 litres per person for 10 days | 2 |
| Long-life food for everyone in the household | for 3, 5, 7 or 10 days | 1 |
| Cereal products, bread, potatoes | 0.33 kg per person per day (about 3.3 kg for 10 days) | 3 |
| Vegetables, mushrooms (mostly canned) | 0.40 kg per person per day (about 4 kg for 10 days) | 3 |
| Fruit (canned, dried, fresh), nuts | 0.25 kg per person per day (about 2.5 kg for 10 days) | 3 |
| Milk and dairy products (UHT milk, hard cheese) | 0.25 kg per person per day (about 2.5 kg for 10 days) | 3 |
| Eggs, meat, sausage, fish (canned or cured) | 0.12 kg per person per day (about 1.2 kg for 10 days) | 3 |
| Fats and oil | 33 g per person per day (about 0.33 kg for 10 days) | 3 |
| Alternative cooking stove (camping stove or gas grill) and its fuel | 1 | 1 |
| Pet food | stock for your pets | 1 |
| Torch and spare batteries; candles and lighter | 1 set | 1 |
| Warm clothing, blankets, sleeping bags | for everyone | 1 |
| Off-grid heater (gas heater, paraffin stove, ethanol fireplace) and fuel | 1 | 1 |
| Solar, battery or crank radio (with batteries) | 1 | 1 |
| Warning app installed (e.g. NINA) | 1 per phone | 1 |
| Charged power bank | 1 | 1 |
| Paper list of important phone numbers | 1 | 1 |
| Water containers for fire-fighting or utility water | not specified | 1 |
| FFP2 respirator mask | not specified by the BBK | 1 |
| Protective helmet against flying debris | not specified by the BBK | 1 |
| Cash (in addition to the grab bag) | not specified | 1 |
| Smoke detector, fire extinguisher or spray, carbon monoxide detector | not specified | 1 |
The 10-day food totals are the daily figures multiplied by ten 3.
What goes in the home pharmacy?
One kit per household 1: painkillers, fever reducers, a thermometer, wound and skin disinfectant, plasters and dressings, a burn dressing, disposable gloves, a cold pack, tweezers, scissors, wound ointment, remedies for diarrhoea, nausea and colds, electrolytes, remedies for sunburn and insect bites, cooling gel, decongestant nasal spray, and your personal medication. For people with ongoing treatment, see Emergency preparedness for children, seniors and people on medication.
Which hygiene items does the BBK list?
Toothpaste, toothbrushes, soap, personal hygiene items (sanitary products, nappies), strong bin bags to line the toilet, toilet paper, disinfectant, detergent, wet wipes, kitchen paper, household gloves and a camping toilet. The checklist gives no quantities for these 1.
What goes in the grab bag (Notgepäck)?
One per person 1: warm clothes, rain gear, sturdy shoes, a change of clothes, first aid, personal medication, a power bank, hygiene items, long-life food and a refillable bottle, a folder of important documents, a sleeping bag or blanket, a mess kit, a pocket knife and can opener, a torch, a radio, a lighter or matches, sun cream and a hat, a notepad and pen, work gloves, spare glasses or hearing aids, and cash. For a general approach to a portable kit, see What goes in a 72-hour emergency kit?.
Turn this list into your plan
The official list above is the reference, and you can assemble everything on it yourself. The Phaenyx plan counts each line for your household, adds the risks around your home and comes with the Phaenyx Safe app. Build your Phaenyx plan.
Frequently asked questions
How much water does a family of four need for 10 days?
At the BBK rate of 2 litres per person per day, 80 litres (20 litres per person) 2.
Does the BBK say how many FFP2 masks to keep?
No. The checklist lists an FFP2 respirator mask without a quantity 1.
Is the checklist available in English?
The BBK publishes an English version of its preparedness guide 2; the checklist cited on this page is the German edition 1.
Do I need a grab bag for each person?
Yes. The BBK lists one grab bag (Notgepäck) per person 1.
Sources
- Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz und Katastrophenhilfe (BBK) — Checklisten zur Vorsorge – Krisen und Katastrophen — https://www.bbk.bund.de/SharedDocs/Downloads/DE/Mediathek/Publikationen/Buergerinformationen/Ratgeber/Checklisten-zur-Vorsorge-Krisen-und-Katastrophen.pdf?__blob=publicationFile&v=19 (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz und Katastrophenhilfe (BBK) — Vorsorgen für Krisen und Katastrophen (2. Auflage, Stand 11/2025) — https://www.bbk.bund.de/SharedDocs/Downloads/DE/Mediathek/Publikationen/Buergerinformationen/Ratgeber/BBK-Vorsorgen-fuer-Krisen-und-Katastrophen.pdf?__blob=publicationFile&v=44 (accessed 2026-10-20)
- Bundesministerium für Landwirtschaft, Ernährung und Heimat – Ernährungsvorsorge — Vorratskalkulator — https://www.ernaehrungsvorsorge.de/private-vorsorge/notvorrat/vorratskalkulator (accessed 2026-10-20)
Turn this into action
Your plan for Germany, worked out for your household.
- Water, food and equipment counted for each person and pet
- The nuclear plants and zones around your home
- Phaenyx Safe: one tap to tell your people you are safe
Sources
- Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz und Katastrophenhilfe (BBK) · Checklisten zur Vorsorge – Krisen und Katastrophen checked 2026-10-20
- Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz und Katastrophenhilfe (BBK) · Vorsorgen für Krisen und Katastrophen (2. Auflage, Stand 11/2025) checked 2026-10-20
- Bundesministerium für Landwirtschaft, Ernährung und Heimat – Ernährungsvorsorge · Vorratskalkulator checked 2026-10-20