UNCLASSIFIED · OPEN SOURCES Launch offer: your household plan and Phaenyx Safe are free for a limited time (regular price $29). Build my plan →
PHAENYXCivil preparedness EN

France · Kit list

France emergency kit checklist: the official SGDSN list

The French 72-hour kit from the SGDSN guide, item by item: 6 L of water per person, food, medicines, radio, torch, papers, cash.

Updated 2026-10-20· 1 official sources

Short answer. The French government's guide "Tous responsables" (SGDSN, November 2025) lists the contents of a household kit for the first 72 hours of a major crisis: 6 litres of bottled water per person, non-perishable food that needs no cooking, daily medicines, a first-aid kit, a battery-powered radio, a torch, warm clothes, copies of identity papers and cash 1.

Information verified on 20 October 2026.

What is on the official French kit list?

Every line below comes from the SGDSN guide 1. Quantities are the guide's own; "not specified" means it gives none.

Item Quantity
Drinking water in bottles 6 litres per person (checklist: 6 × the number of people in the household)
Water purification tablets as a last resort
Non-perishable food that needs no cooking (canned food, baby food jars) for 72 hours (no quantity given)
Ready-to-use liquid infant formula (first age) if there is a baby
Coffee, tea not specified
Pet food not specified
Daily medicines (usual treatment and emergency medicines) not specified
Spare pair of glasses 1
First-aid kit: alcohol, hand sanitiser gel, masks, plasters, compresses 1
Multi-purpose knife, can opener not specified
Camping stove (réchaud) not specified
Battery-powered radio, to follow instructions from the authorities 1, with spare batteries
Power bank and phone charger not specified
Spare batteries not specified
Soap not specified
Torch (with spare batteries), candles, matches, lighter not specified
Warm clothes and a survival (space) blanket not specified
Spare keys for the house and car 1 set
Photocopies of identity papers and prescriptions, in a waterproof pouch 1 set
Cash (cash machines may not work) not specified
Books and games not specified

How long should the kit last?

72 hours. The guide says the first 72 hours of a crisis are often the hardest, and that a prepared household lets the emergency services focus on people in serious difficulty 1. More context is on the France emergency supplies page.

How do I keep the kit up to date?

Check it twice a year: look at the expiry dates of medicines and food, and replace the batteries 1. For rotating stored food and water, see How long does emergency food last, and how do you rotate it?.

Why a radio and paper copies?

The guide lists a battery-powered radio so that you can follow instructions from the authorities 1. Photocopies of identity papers and prescriptions go in a waterproof pouch, and cash is included because cash machines may not work 1. French alert channels, including radio, are described on the France alerts page.

How do I adapt the list to my household?

The official list already includes infant formula for babies, pet food and daily medicines 1. Quantities for medicines and pet food are left to each household. For people with specific needs, see Emergency preparedness for children, seniors and people on medication and How do I prepare my pet for an emergency?. For a general view of kit contents across agencies, see What goes in a 72-hour emergency kit?.

Turn this list into your plan

The official list above is the reference, and you can assemble everything on it yourself. The Phaenyx plan counts each line for your household, adds the risks around your home and comes with the Phaenyx Safe app. Build your Phaenyx plan.

Frequently asked questions

Does France recommend a 72-hour kit?

Yes. The SGDSN guide "Tous responsables" asks households to prepare a kit to face the first 72 hours of a major crisis on their own 1.

How much water goes in a French emergency kit?

6 litres of bottled water per person, with water purification tablets as a last resort 1.

Does the French list include iodine tablets?

No. Iodine tablets are not part of the kit list; they are distributed free around nuclear sites and taken only on the prefect's order. See the France iodine page.

How often should the kit be checked?

Twice a year, checking medicine and food expiry dates and replacing the batteries 1.

Sources

  1. Secrétariat général de la défense et de la sécurité nationale (SGDSN) — Tous responsables. Face aux risques, agissons : bien préparés, bien protégés, tous engagés — https://www.ecologie.gouv.fr/sites/default/files/documents/SGDSN_Guide_Tous%20responsables.pdf (accessed 2026-10-20)

Turn this into action

Your plan for France, worked out for your household.

  • Water, food and equipment counted for each person and pet
  • The nuclear plants and zones around your home
  • Phaenyx Safe: one tap to tell your people you are safe

Sources

  1. Secrétariat général de la défense et de la sécurité nationale (SGDSN) · Tous responsables. Face aux risques, agissons : bien préparés, bien protégés, tous engagés checked 2026-10-20

Keep reading: Kit list